Skip to main content

Biodiversity Action Planning across the University of Leeds residences

Written by Karolina Zarzyczn

Category
Sustainability Architects
Date

Habitat loss and fragmentation are key drivers of biodiversity loss [1], with urbanisation having a greater impact on species than any other habitat conversion [2]. The 2019 State of Nature Report has revealed that since 1970s, 41% of all UK species have experienced population declines, whilst 27% have decreased their ranges [2]. With a growing number of people living in urban areas [2], the development of wildlife-friendly green spaces is becoming increasingly important [2]. Furthermore, human interaction with nature and wildlife is thought to reduce physiological and psychological stress [3]. The inclusion of well designed green spaces, can therefore enrich local biodiversity whilst having positive effects on the well-being of their users.

As a Student Sustainability Architect, I am working closely with the Residential Services to enhance biodiversity across six, off-campus residences. Within my action planning, I am also focusing on providing opportunities for residents and staff to interact with nature, thereby enhancing their well-being. As my work requires comprehensive surveys of plants and animals present on each site, some of the work has been conducted in early autumn and the rest will resume in early spring. Up until now, I have conducted detailed habitat surveys across North Hill Road and North Hill Court Residences. Using the information collected during the surveys, I was able to create detailed habitat maps. The habitats were allocated using the criteria from the University’s biodiversity performance tool, which will allow us to provide a biodiversity “score” for each site. I am currently in the process of developing recommendations for site-specific Biodiversity Action Plans (BAPs).